‘The music is your special friend, dance on fire as it intends’: RIP Ray Manzarek (1939- 2013).

21 May

Whiskey

I’m up to my proverbial eyeballs in Masters Dissertation work, not to mention the other paid kind (which I just did), but a quick blog post is needed today I feel. One of my music idols passed away yesterday, and what a surprise it was. I thought he was in the rudest of health. Ray Manzarek, best known as the keyboardist and one of the founding members of The Doors, died after a battle with cancer.

As with millions, The Doors’ music means a lot of things, and perhaps soon I’ll share what those some things are to me. So personally (and bitterly) it’s ironic that my recent talk of a trip to the US centered around discussion of culminating the trip in LA, and seeing the sights and sounds of ‘Doors LA’. I even found out where The ‘Whiskey-a-Go-Go’ is in relation to my Uncle’s house. What I didn’t expect was to be posting up a poignant photograph of the club’s marquee soon after, lamenting Ray’s passing. Such is life….and the other thing.

As Alex Petridis said yesterday, it took a certain kind of man to get noticed in a band fronted by Jim Morrison. Ray Manzarek was that kind of man. A great raconteur, a formidably friendly presence and a unique musical talent. I still haven’t heard Ray’s 1974 album The Golden Scarab, an Egyptian mythology concept album, but I can’t imagine its boring, even if it turns out to be a few other things. A musician as good as this man could only entertain. Admittedly, if he’d retired in 1973, his work with The Doors would have remained his most famous work. But what work. One of the all time great American rock bands from the psychedelic era of the late ’60s. From the celebratory intro to ‘Light my fire’, the driving dark urgency of ‘When the music’s over’ to the reflective ease of ‘Riders on the storm’, Manzarek’s jazzy phantom fairground keyboards were the soul of The Doors, and gave them much of their unique character in a band where all four members added something special. Without one member, they were far less, as two Morrison-less albums proved. In my friend Dan I probably have the closest I’d ever get to Ray Manzarek, and he met the guy three times. Each anecdote about him backs up all the good things I read about in my teens.

His band inspired countless disenfranchised, creative, passionate and soul searching kids. May his music continue to do so. Ray’s new music may be over, but some of us will keep the lights on for his legacy.

Ray-Manzarek_2568406b

One Response to “‘The music is your special friend, dance on fire as it intends’: RIP Ray Manzarek (1939- 2013).”

  1. southerntongue May 22, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    Ray’s keyboards were a staple of The Doors. He’ll certainly be missed after such a long and fruitful career helping to create such haunting music. The Doors’ songs opened my mind to other realms of possibilities and cleansed my perception. I paid tribute to Ray when I heard of his passing by creating a new portrait of him and some melting doors which you can see on my artist’s blog at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2013/05/in-memoriam-ray-manzarek.html Drop by and let me know how The Doors influenced you too.

Leave a Reply

